

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Press Contact: Lynn Kim 212.358.6114, <u>lkim@aiany.org</u>



AIA New York Elects 2025 Leadership at 157th Annual Meeting

AIA New York elected new leadership, revised bylaws, and celebrated award recipients.

New York City, June 18, 2024 – On Tuesday, June 18, 2024, AIA New York hosted its **157th Annual Meeting**, where members elected 2025 leadership, made amendments to the chapter's bylaws, and celebrated the achievements of 2024 and its award recipients.

NEW LEADERSHIP

After presenting on the state of the Chapter, from program initiatives and advocacy to its financial health and membership, and celebrating newly licensed members, **2024 President Greg Switzer, AIA, NOMA, NCARB**, turned over the podium to **AIANY Board Secretary Mark Gardner, AIA, NOMA**, who presented the work of the nominating committee in creating the 2025 slate and reviewing AIANY's bylaws to better serve the membership. Present members



voted in favor of the amendments and confirmed the committee's slate, which is available below.

AIANY CHAPTER RECOGNITION

The Annual Meeting also served as an opportunity to recognize members of the architecture and design community for their local and regional contributions.

Leadership in Housing Award: RKTB Architects, P.C. Public Architecture Award: Bruce Eisenberg, FAIA, LEED AP, Director, New York City Housing Authority (NYCHA) Service to the Institute: Suzanne D. H. Mecs, Hon. AIA NYS, Managing Director, AIANY Service to the City: Brooklyn, Queens, and New York Public Library Systems Special Citation for Service to Women in Architecture: Beverly Willis Architecture Foundation

2025 BOARD OF DIRECTORS (*Elected at Annual Meeting)

*Benjamin Gilmartin, AIA, Diller Scofidio + Renfro *President*

*Mark Gardner, AIA, NOMA, Jaklitsch/Gardner Architects *First Vice President / President-Elect*

*Andrea Steele, AIA, Andrea Steele Architecture (ASA) Vice President for Design Excellence

Peter Miller, AIA, Palette Architecture Vice President for Professional Development

*Gustavo Rodriguez, AIA, FXCollaborative Vice President for Public Outreach

*Kirsten Sibilia, Assoc. AIA, Dattner Architects Secretary

Alexander Lamis, FAIA, Lamis Architect *Treasurer*

Victoria Benatar, AIA, EXD Architecture Director

Michael Caton, AIA, Juno Director

Bruce Eisenberg, FAIA, New York Housing Authority *Director*

Ilana Judah, AIA, OAW, LEED AP, CPHC, Arup *Director*

*Lindsay Harkema, AIA, WIP Collaborative Director

*Jing Liu, AIA, SO-IL Director

Michaela Metcalfe, AIA, New York City Department of Design and Construction *Director*

AJ Pires, AIA, Alloy Development *Director*



Amanda Ramos, Assoc. AIA, Gensler Director

Jennifer Graham, FIIDA, LEED AP, Perkins & Will *Public Director*

*Harriet Harriss, Assoc. AIA, ARB, RIBA, PFHEA, FRSA, Ph.D, Pratt Institute Public Director

Vincent Lee, PE, Arup Public Director **David Lewis, AIA**, Parsons School of Design *Public Director*

Tami Hausman, PhD, HAUSMAN Public Director, Oculus Advisor

*Elise Park, NYIT Student Director

*Gregory Switzer, AIA, NOMA, NCARB, SWITZER Architecture, P.C. Immediate Past President

2025 ELECTIVE COMMITTEE SLATE (*Elected at Annual Meeting)

Design Awards Committee:

*Andrew Bernheimer, FAIA, Bernheimer Architecture *Michael Brotherton, AIA, SITU Fabrication *Winka Dubbeldam, Assoc. AIA, Archi-Tectonics *Brian Messana, AIA, Messana O'Rorke

Fellows Committee:

2023–2025 Heidi Blau, FAIA, FXCollaborative Sharon Egretta Sutton, FAIA, Parsons School of Design

2024–2025 (non-Fellows) Magali Regis, AIA, e_space design Annya Ramirez-Jimenez, AIA, Marvel

2024–2026 **Peter Cavaluzzi, FAIA**, Perkins Eastman ***Barbara Spandorf, FAIA, LEED AP**, City University of New York

2025–2027 *Rob Rogers, FAIA, Rogers Partners *Gregory Waugh, FAIA, Perkins+Will



Joint Finance Committee:

2023–2025 Julia Murphy, AIA, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill Kate Mann, AIA, LEED AP, ZGF Architects

2024–2026 Kevin Keating, AIA, Selldorf Architects Elizabeth Leber, AIA, LEED AP, Beyer Blinder Belle

2025–2027 ***Sara Rubenstein, AIA**, Pelli Clarke Pelli ***Matthew Snethen, AIA**, Perkins Eastman

Honors Committee:

2024–2025 Ann Marie Baranowski, FAIA, Ann Marie Baranowski Architect PLLC David Polk, AIA, U.S. General Services Administration Kathryn Thiele, AIA, Buildstock

2025–2026 ***Everado Jefferson, AIA**, Caples Jefferson ***Sara Lopergolo, FAIA**, Sara Lopergolo Architect ***Clare Miflin, AIA**, Center for Zero Waste Design

Oculus Committee:

2024–2025 **Nu Goteh**, Room for Magic **Yetunde Olaiya**, Pratt Institute **Amy Siegel**, C&G Partners

2025–2026 *Fred Bernstein, Writer *Paul Makovsky, ARCHITECT *Julia van den Hout, ORIGINAL COPY

About AIA New York

Founded in 1857, AIA New York is the oldest and largest chapter of the American Institute of Architects. The Chapter's members include 5,700 practicing architects, allied professionals, students, and public members interested in architecture and design. AIA New York is dedicated to three goals: design excellence, public outreach, and professional development. <u>aiany.org</u>